menu click


                              Excerpts form Standing Orders (Revised) of the Sierra Leone Parliament. 2006 
There shall be a Committee to be known as the legislative Committee consisting of a maximum of 16 members to be nominated by the Committee of Selection for approval by the Plenary, after the beginning of each session of parliament, but in any case not later than twenty-one days thereafter.

It shall  be the duty of the Committee to scrutinise bills committed to it after Second Reading passage or, as the case may be, to assess, prior to the inception of passage, their appropriateness for introduction in the House; to examine constitutional and statutory instruments laid on the table of the House pursuant to subsection (7) of Section 70 of the Constitution; and to oversee the Judiciary.

The powers of the Committee shall be pursuant to subsection (6) of section 93 of the Constitution.