menu click


There shall be a Committee to be known as the Committee of Privileges, consisting off a maximum of 16 members to be nominated by the Committee of Selection for approval by the plenary after the beginning of each session, but in any case not alter than twenty-one days thereafter, 

It shall be the duty of the committee to oversee and uphold the privileges, laws and customs of the House as well as the responsibilities of Members of Parliament and standards of parliamentary conduct pursuant to subsection (1) subparagraph (e) of Section 77 of the Constitution.  The orders on ABSENCE OF MEMBERS S.O. 77 and – PREMATURE PUBLICATION OF THE CONTENTS OF SELECT COMMITTEE REPORTS (S.O. 75) of the Standing Orders of the Sierra Leone Parliament; Sections 94, 95, 96 and part IV – RESPONSIBILITIES,  PRIVILEGES AND IMMUNITIES of the constitution shall fall within the mandate of the Committee.

The Committee shall also investigate and report on prima facie cases of contempt and breach of parliamentary privilege committed to it by the House.

The powers of the Committee shall be pursuant to subsection (6) of Section 93 of the Constitution.