menu click

About Us

The Parliament at present has 32 Committees the latest one being the Committee on Statutory Instruments set up in October 2013. Out of the 32 Committees,  7 are House related Committees which includes Committees for specific tasks such as vetting of Appointments by the Office of the President; Legislative Committee which analyzes draft Bills, etc., 3 are finance related committees namely, the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), Finance Committee and the Transparency and Accountability Committee and the rest of the 22 are subject related oversight committees covering the different MDAs/areas in the executive. Each Committee is headed by a Chairman and a Deputy Chairman and generally has 16 members with certain exceptions.  The Committees in the Parliament are serviced by 14 Committee clerks which implies that most of the clerks manage at least two committees.  One positive aspect is that generally Committee meetings are open to the public.