menu click



Parliament of Sierra Leone

The 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone vests the legislative power in the Parliament. While the President is a part of Parliament the Constitution specifies that no Minister or Deputy Minister will be part of Parliament.  The Parliament itself consists of a total of 146 seats, 132 directly elected members from single member constituencies and 14 Paramount Chiefs from the 14 Districts of Sierra Leone.
The Parliament is headed by the Speaker who shall be elected by the Members of Parliament from among persons who are-
Members of Parliament and who had served as such for not less than five years; or Qualified to be Members of Parliament and who had served as such for not less than ten years”. And who are not less than forty years. (Amendment of section 79 of Act No 6 of 1991)In his absence, the Deputy Speaker who is elected from amongst the Members of Parliament presides over the sittings of the House.Following the elections of 7th March, 2018 the fourth after the end of the civil war, four Parties and three Independent Members are represented, namely, the A.P.C. (All Peoples Congress) 68 seats, the S.L.P.P. (Sierra Leone Peoples Party) 49 seats, C4C (Coalition for Change) 8 seats, NGC (National Grand Coalition) 4 seats and three Independent candidates As of now, the House has 125 first time MPs and 17 Women Members. Read more